Crush Liberalism

Liberalism: Why think when you can “feel”?

D’oh! Rep. Joe Barton (R-TX) apologizes to BP

Folks, I am more than willing to whack one of ours when they mess up.  And boy, did this guy mess up:

I’m ashamed of what happened in the White House yesterday,” Barton said. “I think it is a tragedy of the first proportion that a private corporation can be subjected to what I would characterize as a shakedown, in this case, a $20 billion shakedown.”

He complained that “the attorney general of the United States, who is legitimately conducting a criminal investigation and has every right to do so to protect the interests of the American people, [is] participating in what amounts to a $20 billion slush fund that’s unprecedented in our nation’s history, that’s got no legal standing, and which sets, I think, a terrible precedent for the future.”

“I apologize,” Barton added. “I do not want to live in a country where any time a citizen or a corporation does something that is legitimately wrong is subject to some sort of political pressure that is — again, in my words, amounts to a shakedown. So I apologize.”

“I’m speaking now totally for myself,” he noted. “I’m not speaking for the Republican Party.”

You sure as h#ll aren’t, pal.

While I don’t disagree that Obama and his Chicagoland cronies are shakedown artists, Barton flubbed this one big time.  Who, in their right mind, would be defending BP right now (and any time in the foreseeable future)?  I mean, it’s correct to note how the bumbling, incompetent administration royally exacerbated the containment and cleanup efforts in the gulf, but let’s not mince words about this: the oil spill itself is BP’s fault, and they need to be held financially responsible.  It’s stupid politics, and it’s naive to think otherwise.

Boehner and other Republicans are already piling on Barton, and in my view, it’s warranted.

June 17, 2010 - Posted by | Obama, oil

2 Comments »

  1. I agree that Barton’s comment was ridiculous, but I have to say, the disrespect shown by Congress during those hearings was appalling and every American should be ashamed of our representatives. How DARE those blathering blow hards sit up there on their proverbial thrones and grill ANYONE about “honesty” and “truth telling”. It’s Kabuki theatre…
    I’m no fan of BP, but how about we get the mess cleaned up and THEN hold hearings…

    Comment by Kanaka Girl | June 21, 2010

  2. Exactly right.

    Comment by crushliberalism | June 21, 2010


Leave a Reply

