Crush Liberalism

Liberalism: Why think when you can “feel”?

Congress’ only Muslim: You know, regulations are GREAT for job creation!

Nice to see that economic ignorance doesn’t discriminate based on religion.  From MSDNC, and interview with Keith Ellison (D-MN):

Rep. Keith Ellison (D-Minn.) tells MSNBC regulations create jobs because a business will have to hire people to help them comply with the new requirement.

“I think the answer is no,” Ellison said when asked if he believes regulations kill jobs. “And here is why: When we talked about increasing fuel efficiency standards, the industry responded, and they need engineers and designers and manufacturers, and they need actually more people to help respond to the new requirement.”

“I believe if the government says, look, we have got to reduce our carbon footprint, you will kick into gear a whole number of people that know how to do that or have ideas about that, and that will be a job engine. I understand what you mean, because if anything adds a cost to a business, you could assume that that will diminish that business’s ability to hire. But I don’t think that’s actually right. I think what businesses want is customers and what — if they are selling product, if they have a product to sell they will do well even if they have some new regulations to meet,” the Congressman said.

Wow.  Just…wow.

Right, businesses just sit back and take it up the chute when big government comes in and imposes newer and bigger regulatory burdens on them.  They don’t lay off workers or raise prices of their goods/services in order to fund the new help (temporary, usually) to comply with the regs.  They don’t relocate to friendlier business climes.  They don’t close their doors for good.  No, they don’t do any of those things, do they?

Look, Muhammed, if increased government regulations spurned job creation, then the economy would have caught fire in the last 2.5 years.  But it hasn’t.  It’s gotten worse.  Why, it’s almost as if the anti-business regulations have strangled the economy and job creation!  Almost, of course.  From Investors:

If regulations were job-creation engines, the economy should be in danger of overheating right about now. Obama has overseen the fastest growth in new federal rules ever, imposing 75 new major regulations in his first 26 months in office at a cost of more than $40 billion, according to the Heritage Foundation.

And the left wonders why their efforts to revive the economy have fallen flat?

October 11, 2011 - Posted by | big government, economic ignorance, Minnesota

3 Comments »

  1. Yeah, but the THEORY is sound………….

    Comment by Kevin | October 11, 2011

  2. That’s what ya get when academia attempts to govern, if they are not interested in destroying the country at the outset. Which they were.
    Theory is just that, theory. It doesn’t mean squat until all the tests have been done and it is proven to be fact.
    Kevin, the theory is even flawed in this administration. Muhammed Ellison proves that just by opening his piehole and adding his two cents. Somebody needs to close this a-hole down, along with his dear leader. I blame the cowardly congress for not taking action against this administration. The House could start the process, build their case and watch the lettie senate dance around it.
    Could be good for the elections of 2012, if there are any.

    Comment by J. Guidry, Battlefield, MO. | October 12, 2011

  3. J. G..I agree, and for the record, I was being sarcastic (see crush’s cartoon of the primitives jumping into the chasm).
    The theory is grotesquely flawed. To put it into perspective (which the left has NO desire to actually do), let’s say that my home state (AR) enacts a new law that requires me to provide electronic warning systems on my vehicle for the “greater good” of the public. Let’s say the equipment costs me about $2000.00.
    Would anyoe suggest that this extra expense will do ANYTHING besides encourage me to cut some of my spending to offset this new regulated expense? My trips to dine-in restaurants will come to a stop (sorry, no tips for the waitress – lost income for her). Any movie plans I might have made will now be cancelled (sorry, no over-priced popcorn and no ticket sales to contribute to the salary of the workers at the theater). The costly electronics games my daughter wanted will now remain at Game Stop (sorry for the unintentional advertisement) so not only will that store be negatively impacted by my budget offset, but my child is disappointed as well….SO….while the warning system sales industry will enjoy a temporary increase in income (don’t think for a second that I wouldn’t transfer the same OLD system every time I buy another automobile -IF I buy one), it is retarded to insist that the economy is better off by requiring a new expense (mandated jobs) and it is equally as mentally impaired to believe that I am not going to COMPENSATE for the required expense by cutting spending elsewhere (unlike liberal govt budgets). Oh, and if I paid little Billy next door $50 per month to wash my car and cut my grass…guess what? He LOSES his job (I do it myself) because I had to pay for something the govt regulated…HELLO? Anyone see the illustration here (democrats)?
    Of course, according to them, I’m heartless if I don’t just eat that expense. How dare I offset it by cutting spending elsewhere? (sorry little Billy)

    Comment by Kevin | October 12, 2011


Leave a Reply

