Crush Liberalism

Liberalism: Why think when you can “feel”?

Newt: Sitting on the couch with Pelosi and cutting that junk science commercial was horrendously stupid

Yeah, it was.  Nice to see you coming around to our view on that, sir.  Details:

In 2008 former House Speaker Newt Gingrich appeared in a TV ad created by Al Gore’s Climate Reality Project with then-House Speaker Nancy Pelosi to urge action on anthropogenic climate change. Many conservatives were disappointed.

However, on Tuesday’s “Special Report” on the Fox News Channel, Gingrich — now a candidate for the Republican nomination for president — admitted it was a mistake for him to appear in the ad during the show’s “Center Seat” segment.

“First of all, that is probably the dumbest single thing I’ve done in years,” Gingrich said. “It is inexplicable that somebody used to say, ‘You know, there aren’t enough hay wagons to stand on to get people to understand that.’ You just need to relax and go, that was dumb.”

Panelist Charles Krauthammer asked Gingrich if he was being held hostage when the ad was filmed. Gingrich responded that he just made a mistake.

“No, that was dumb,” Gingrich said. “I was trying to do something I failed to do. I do think it’s important for conservative to be in the middle of the debate over the environment.”

For me, that’s one of the bigger hangups I had with the guy.  There are others, chronicled here before.  But that was a biggie.

November 9, 2011 - Posted by | global warming, Newt Gingrich, Pelosi

10 Comments »

  1. I’m actually amazed to see a politician admit they did something stupid…guess Big O has been in office for so long that I forgot what it sounded like to hear a politician ADMIT to a mistake (cuz he sure as torment won’t)

    Comment by Kevin | November 9, 2011

  2. I actually like Newt. The more I hear him, the more I’m thinking he might just get my vote. I really want to see him mop the floor with Obama and his teleprompter.

    Comment by Kanaka Girl | November 9, 2011

  3. […] Newt: Sitting on the couch with Pelosi and cutting that junk science commercial was horrendously stu… (crushliberalism.com) […]

    Pingback by Newt Gingrich Will Say Anything To Get Votes | Wis U.P. North | November 9, 2011

  4. As for the third post…”Newt…will say anything to get votes” I agree. Good thing Obama isn’t that way huh?!?!?
    Note to left; that is totally sarcasm!

    Comment by Kevin | November 9, 2011

  5. I’m voting for him.

    Comment by Steve | November 10, 2011

  6. WHy? (not being argumentative, just wondering what his record has that makes him the best pick)

    Comment by Kevin | November 11, 2011

  7. Kevin, Unlike many, I’m not opposed to a Washington insider. A conservative insier can get things done, and perhaps solve some of our country’s big looming problems. I respect Newt’s intelligence and use of historical perspective to find solutions. Also when Newt speaks, he doesn’t talk down to us, but treats us as intelligent citizens. He understands America’s problems can’t be solved in 30 second sound bites, yet in 30 seconds says more than anyone else. I also like his accomplishments in the 90’s, and his willingness to shut the government down to force Clinton to admit the era of big government was over. It’s time for him to teach Obama, Nancy and Does that lesson.

    Comment by Steve | November 15, 2011

  8. I can see your points. O-BUM-uh and Lady Botox need such a lesson, I concur. I hate his marital failure…I do so wish we could get a man with strong moral fiber to run…but I fear that the time is upon us where we have to settle for getting the job DONE, and put our preferences in a candidate’s personal life to the side for the sake of our nation.

    Comment by Kevin | November 16, 2011

  9. Kevin, One more thing to remember as far as moral fiber between old Newt and new Newt is his conversion to Catholicism, and his acceptance now of Jesus as Christ and something larger than himself.

    Comment by Steve | November 16, 2011

  10. Joe Biden is a Catholic…but hey, if he will have a GENUINELY greater appreciation for commitment, then I can hope more for him!

    Comment by Kevin | November 17, 2011


Leave a Reply

