Crush Liberalism

Liberalism: Why think when you can “feel”?

Red states more charitable in giving than blue states

Go figure.

The eight states whose residents gave the highest share of their income — Utah, Mississippi, Alabama, Tennessee, South Carolina, Idaho, Arkansas and Georgia — all backed McCain in 2008. Utah leads charitable giving, with 10.6 percent of income given.

And the least generous states — Wisconsin, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Vermont, Maine and New Hampshire — were Obama supporters in the last presidential race. New Hampshire residents gave the least share of their income, the Chronicle stated, with 2.5 percent.

Liberals equate paying taxes with charity.  Uh, wrong.  Taxes are not voluntary.  Charitable giving is.  Liberals are far more generous with other people’s money, not so much when it comes to their own.

August 20, 2012 - Posted by | big government, hypocrisy

9 Comments »

  1. Yeah, my property taxes keep me from giving money, but I give my time to various organizations including my small church. Doesn’t excuse my hedge fund billionaire neighbors from giving too little of course. I have to say that I’m always skeptical of these reports as so many don’t claim their givings – I certainly don’t get everything I’ve given too – and considering church a charity can be iffy… at least in the case of sprawling brand new mega churches (we’re new to those up here) who convince their new-to-religion members to contribute 10% of their income.

    Comment by Alli | August 21, 2012

  2. Alli – all churches ask for 10%. It’s called tithing.

    Comment by Kanaka Girl | August 21, 2012

  3. I would submit that churches don’t ask for 10%. God does.

    Comment by crushliberalism | August 21, 2012

  4. You’re right Crush. I stand corrected.

    Comment by Kanaka Girl | August 21, 2012

  5. I also give my time to the church. It’s the people’s obligation to help humanity in any way they see fit, not government. Need to read about Americans who take a stand against government that forces them to pay taxes for causes they disagree with. ( booksbyoliver.com ) cause it’s so real so I recommend it.

    There was most charity, in times past by Americans, but many are being taxed so hight that they can’t afford to help. Great article. THanks.

    Comment by MountainHome | August 21, 2012

  6. Wow, I detect a touch of bitterness toward the hedge fund billionaire neighbor. I ain’t rich, but I couldn’t care any less than I do right now how much money those guys have, nor what they do with it. It is THEIRS, and I ain’t entitled to a dime of it.
    Does your small church endorse those who support abortion, I wonder (I sure hope not)? Because while people who attend such “churches” (not saying your is such a church) sure seem concerned with the amount of money billionaires have, they seem to forget (or just to be totally ignorant of the fact) that God hates hands that shed innocent blood (they are an “abomination” according to God per Proverb 6:16-18). Anyone who attends “church” should certainly be disgusted by (and oppose) the things that God views as an abomination, should they not?
    By the way, what neighborhood do YOU live in? I have never had a “billionaire neighbor”, since they tend to live in extremely expensive houses and in generally exclusive neighborhoods. If you have billionaires as neighbors, that would suggest that you are doing pretty darned well, and it is a shame that the only money you might be able to give to your church is being sucked away in county property taxes.
    Also, strange that the “mega church” “convinces” their “new-to-religion” members to give 10% of their income. Does the small, “old-to-religion” church teach that is ok to love money so much as not to give (and excuse it with things such as property tax), but expect the church to still be able to minister to them (for free, no less).
    I often wonder how many people who claim they can’t give (and blame it on their taxes, or salaries, or whatever) have enough money to entertain themselves via cable/satellite, iPhones, high speed internet, starbuck’s coffee, and the like.
    Again, not saying that YOU are such a one, but it is hard to imagine that one cannot give ANYTHING to their church (not even ten bucks a month) in the USA. Often times, they are not even willing to sacrifice the cost of those extra 500 text messages in order to contribute to the work of their local churches…..

    Comment by Kevin | August 22, 2012

  7. Kevin – that was perfect!

    Comment by Kanaka Girl | August 23, 2012

  8. If there is any bitterness toward hedge fund billionaires, it’s their current ties to the education reform movement. Connecticut is fighting off this group of people who want to funnell our tax dollars toward their friends opening up charter schools. As for what they give, well the report Crush sited said blue states don’t give as much, did it not? I used neighbors as a term for fellow Connecticut residents and the state is quite small that you run into billionaires as much as everyone else. I happen to work in lower Fairfield county so see it quite a bit. Still not sure how you jumped to that conclusion except that maybe your always looking for that crap.

    Regarding my small congregational church, the church doesn’t support any politicians and I like it that way. They take what you can give (which is more than $10 a month from me btw) and most people give their time running the church rather than giving away money they don’t have…and most of my church mates take nothing from the church. As for your statement regarding wireless and Starbucks -,what business is it of your’s what they do. Not everyone is into religion as you (some aren’t intomit all) and we’ve been given many good reasons to be skeptical of those in charge. And yes, I will come down on the few mega churches in this area whose bread and butter are parishioners who never had any religious upbringing, hit a rough patch, become cultish about their religion, preach to everyone that their better Christians because they’ve been “saved” ( from what?), and isolate themselves from their communities.

    While I cannot tell you where members of my church stand on abortion (because it’s none of my business how they think) you could probably put me in the pro-choice camp as I don’t tell other people what to do. I’m sure you now see me as abomination which is fine as I have little regard for those who can’t see past their own little worlds and think the have a better play in heaven waiting for them.

    Comment by Alli | August 23, 2012

  9. “Liberals equate paying taxes with charity”

    If I may correct that statement: Liberals equate giving other people’s taxes with charity. If Liberals really believed a word they said they’ be for HIGHER taxes and they’d give more to their communities. Yet what they believe in is getting more by a) taxing the rich and b) putting the young, sick and old in front of them as shields. Needless to say when the benefits roll in they’d walk over those screaming bodies to get to them. Show me a Liberal who wants his taxes raised to help humanity please.

    Comment by Michael | August 28, 2012


Leave a Reply

