Crush Liberalism

Liberalism: Why think when you can “feel”?

Chris Christie to union cop: Hey, at least you have a job.

I’m not dumping on cops, since I’ve got friends and family who are or have been in that selfless profession.  Our society to would cease to function properly if there were no police.  That said, their unions aren’t particularly helpful, and NJ Gov. Christie points that out.  Story here (including video), but here’s my favorite exchange:

Policeman: “My salary went up 2%. And after the increase in my healthcare costs went in, do you know how much my check went up Sir? $4. How am I supposed to live on that?”

Gov. Christie: “Here’s the difference. You’re getting a paycheck. And there are 9% of the people in the state of NJ who are not.”

He also said : “It stinks, but it’s reality.  Other politicians made you promises they couldn’t keep. I’m the guy who has to be here when the party is over.”

He’s not nasty when he says this, either.  He’s just matter-of-fact about it.  Economic reality.

January 28, 2011 Posted by | Chris Christie, New Jersey | Leave a comment